New owner of an MSP, and I have some questions

im2bad4ya

Contributor
:
MAZDASPEED Protege 2K3.5 #882
What's going on everyone! Let me just give you a little background. I've been driving a '92 Mazda MX-3 for the past 7 years (love that car!). But the BP engine I swapped in it last September blew on me and I needed another car ASAP. I got my hands on a 2003.5 MSP, Yellow. So let me give you the run down.

I the body has 65K miles and the previous owner had said the dealer replaced the engine because it had a hairline crack in the (i forgot if he said head or block) and the new engine has around 19K-20K miles (turbo was also replaced). Everything on the car is mechanically stock with the exception of an Injen CAI. The body is in pretty great shape except a spot of cancer on the hood (it's not a hole or rusting through, but it's bubbling from underneath) and some rust on the back of the trunk at the bottom of where the license plate goes. I've only driven the car for a day, and this is my first turbo car (or driving a car with turbo for that matter).

So there are two things I noticed off the bat. When I'm driving and I punch the accelerator at higher RPM's and I let go of the gas (it could be just letting it go to slow down or while shifting) I hear a sound, which I can only describe as a car trying to gain traction in the snow, like a sloshing sound. It doesn't affect performance as far as I can tell, but it does sound odd. Is this normal, and if not, what could it be? (excuse me for the newbie turbo questions).