Bastian's P5 on a college budget

Bastian

:
2003 Mazda Protege5
Had some time to kill, so I thought I might as well make a thread for my P5. I'm mainly doing this to record progress for my own purposes, ask questions, and get opinions.

A little info about me: I'm 17 years old, and the P5 is my first car. I've always been a driving enthusiast, but not one of those stupid kids that drive crappy civics and race in the industrial park. I got my license at 16 and a half, and immediately began searching for a car. I had been doing research for a few months, especially concerning reliability and quality.

This has always been about my limited budget, and I set a limit of $4000 for the car. I searched Craigslist for deals nearby, and nearly bought a cruddy Hyundai.

IMG_20110507_153213.jpg

It was nice if you look at it as an appliance, but was the most boring car I have ever driven.

After a few more cars, I stumbled upon a 2003 5-speed Protege5. I did my homework on it, and it was everything I wanted. Good gas mileage, small size, versatility, and driveability. After having a mechanic look it over, I purchased it for $3300 in April of 2011. It was a laser blue Protege5 with 141k miles.

Pic of the first night I saw it:

IMG_20110512_204032.jpg

The car needed a new clutch, new timing belt, new tires all around, and a ton of suspension work. Ended up putting about $2500 of repairs in to it so it was in 100% working order. Only problem now was minor surface rust on the hood and above rear wheel wells.

IMG_20110601_180353.jpg

IMG_20110601_180412.jpg

The car came with an Injen CAI, Dave B aluminum gauge rings, an old Kenwood headunit (with wire-tapped factory harness instead of the $5 harness (boom06) ), and steel shoes that the previous owner was so kind as to bestow upon me, complete with zip-tied hub caps.