AEM F/IC writeup

Ricktalife

:
2012 Subaru WRX
This thread is for the few users and potential future users of the AEM Fuel and Ignition Controller otherwise known as FIC. I have just installed this EMS on my car about a week ago so I am by no means an expert, but I have had my fair share of issues already and decided to make it easier on the rest of you. The purpose of this thread is to provide members with the knowledge and resources I have dug up about this particular engine management so they will not have to search all over the net for help.

If you are reading this thread and own an MSP, you most likely have experienced hesitation. An in depth analysis of this issue with the help of the FIC can be found here.

Installation
Recommended tools:
-Wire cutters / strippers
-Soldering gun with plenty of solder (trust me)
-Electrical tape / heat shrink or both to cover the connections
-Scan tool (in case you get a CEL)
-Shop manual (will explain exactly which wires to check based on which CEL you may encounter)

At first glance, the wiring harness of the FIC looks very intimidating with a total of over 40 wires. However, you will only need about half of them to utilize most of the features. I have attached a wiring diagram specifically labeling which wires need to be used and where they are to be connected. Be sure to read the instructions (also attached) for detailed explanations and pictures of the various settings.

-The use of solder is highly recommended over crimp connectors.
-An ECU extension harness is also highly recommended, as it can save your factory harness from destruction.
-The instructions suggest using a resistor on the 02 wire, though there is some debate if that is the best method for tuning air/fuel

Note about wiring diagram: