Buyer's guide for the Mazda5

chapel

My wife wants a Mazda5, so that's what we're going to get
we found a nice 2008 Grand Touring with 70k on it and it's the one she wants (leather for easy kid clean up)

I'm a shadetree mechanic, so I know my way around a car pretty well. What should I look for and look to avoid?
It's got pretty high mileage for the year, but it's not that old. What items tend to wear quickly and would need replacement at 60,000+?

Grand Tourings seem to be nearly unobtanium so we're hoping to get this one, but if mileage is an issue, she might need to reconsider.

We just bought a 2008 Sport with 59,000 a few months ago. The shocks do need replaced, but that's about it. We did have to have the transmission replaced under warranty due to a hard 3-4 upshift, but got to drive a 2010 GT during that period which is how I realized our shocks are due.

tire condition, rear shocks (for leaks/blown) and then just general maintenance stuff. being a shadetree mechanic im sure you know what a car looks like when it has been abused and not cared for. that is pretty high mileage (for an 08), but not discouraging. should get it for a good price then.

chapel, if your wife was wiling to give up the leather etc you could pick up a new 2010 Sport for only a few grand more.

70k fewer miles
Dynamic Stability Control (DSC)†† and Traction Control System (TCS), I don't know if there are other differences.
car-part.com might be a source of leather seats, I saw fronts for $150 each, didn't check rears at the time,
but you'd still be missing HIDs, sunroof etc

Leather isn't that big of a draw to us and we have 3 kids, 9/6/5 years old now. Leather is colder (and hotter in summer) when you first get in and while the fronts have heat on a GT, the other 4 don't. The stability/traction control are big draws though.