is getting sponsored a good thing or a bad thing,

Doesn't really work that way. Unless you already have connections to get sponsored you already have to have a nicely modded car. Even then im sure you will get better prices but you still have to pay for your parts. Depending on the company that sponsors you . . . they would probably dyno / tune your car for free. Of course in exchange for a lot of your time. Thats just what ive gathered but im no expert.

on the sponsor side of things, why would i want to pay to have someone's car done up in the first place? to get your company noticed

how would a sponsor go about doing that? advertise all over your car. so basically the appearance of your car would no longer be under your control. and if you ever worried about dealer stickers before you might not want to be sponsored

also from the sponsor point of view, when would they want you to be noticed and in front of what crowd? this would mean that you'd either have to be driving around a course racing others or a popular drag strip or whatever. also, you might have to just go out and drive in certain areas for a certain amount of time and stop at events to talk about your car and the company you would inherently be representing

i don't think it's a good deal, unless you want to sign your livelyhood away. that's just my opinion and im really just basing that off of pure thought and no experiences whatsoever

well I know that it's not the same, but I skateboard and am sponsored by companies. The idea is that in exchange for free products and support, I get their name out there, everyone sees something or someone really good and says well if they're really good, what they use must be really good, and BAM! instant sales for the companies sponsoring you, sort of the same thing with the car companies.

Only difference is that skateboards / clothes / shoes are a few hundred bucks. Car parts / tuning is a bit more expensive :).