Cold engine noise (ease my paranoia)

dmention7

:
'03.5 Blue MSP #2543
After cleaning and replacing my air filter today, I fired up the car and poked my head around under the hood for a few seconds (a habit after I once left the MAFS unplugged, and found that my car ran like ass the next morning). I noticed that if I gave the throttle a quick flick, revving up to maybe 2000-2500rpms, I could hear a quick series of metallic pings right as the engine speed leveled off, and that sounded they were coming from lower down on the motor. It would last for maybe 1/2 second, even if I held the throttle steady. It wasn't loud enough that I could hear it inside the cabin, and I'm fairly certain I've never heard it when the engine is warm (I'll take a listen tomorrow after work).

It doesn't sound like detonation-related pinging, but then I can't be sure I've ever actually heard it before, hehe... Plus, it doesn't seem right for that to happen on a cold motor. I'm no expert at diagnosing engine noises, so does anyone care to take a stab or prod me for more info? I did a little bit of googling, but I didn't find anything that seemed terribly relevant.

Some FS engines are noisy at start up. Could be a combination of many factors but most likely is not a serious issue sice it goes away once the engine oil is up to operating temp.

Would be more noticeable on colder days. Check your engine oil level and consider switching to 10W30 unless your temps are lower than 0 in the winter.

My N/A FSDE sounded horrible at cold start when I first got it, and I was all concerned that something was wrong...now I am resigned that this is just a characteristic of my engine after two years of no issues...

Was the intake manifold vics/vtcs screw problem fixed before?