pioneer F700BT install

rawhit

Hey guys,
my first post here. I have a 2008 Mazda 5 GT. I ordered a pioneer F700bt from 6Ave which hasn't arrived yet. I was planing to do the install myself (I am a complete newbie at this). To complete the install I have also ordered the double din kit from crutch field and mazda 5 wiring harness
Even though I haven't received the components I already have a few questions about the install.
  • How do I place the microphone so that most of the wiring is not visible?
  • How do I draw the wiring for GPS receiver and what would be optimal positiion for it so that most of the wires are not visible but gps receiver still gets the best signal
  • Any recommendation for the backup camera? Pioneer one is too expensive for me and if I don't find a reasonably priced one I might skip it completely
thanks in advance
rawhit

you can place the mic just on top of the steering column and route the wire directly into the cover of that and behind the speedo under the dashboard to the center console.

the gps can be left inside the dashboard, so it is completely invisible but will get all the signal. the signal will not be blocked by the plastik of the dashboard. just make sure that there is no metal sheet above the antenna.

Thanks for the reply mate!
I guess I will have a better idea once I have taken the factory stereo out.

Btw did anyone get one of these aftermarket gps units installed by an installer? How much do these installations typically cost? Just in case I find it all too daunting or get stuck while installing (nervous)
Also would be great if someone can post pics of their install :)

Thanks for the reply mate!
I guess I will have a better idea once I have taken the factory stereo out.

the installation i discribed above will be completely invisible and full functional. what better could it be? (scratch)