New Protege5 owner with a couple questions

KZsigBZ

Hello all! I am the new owner of an 03 sunlight silver protege5. I purchased the car earlier today and I must say I am impressed with the car so far! I will post pics ASAP. As this is my first time dealing with a Mazda (previously owned a Honda) I do have a couple simple questions/problems to ask of you.

It is my assumption that there is only one trim for the Protege5? Therefore they all come with the 2.0 liter 130hp/135tq engine?

What size are the low-beam headlight bulbs? I was told by advanced autoparts it was 9003, but the bulbs I purchased (sylvania silverstar ultra) do not fit properly. I can not get the clip to fit around the bulb.

I'm sure I will have more questions to ask as I learn more about the car, but these are some off the top of my head. I greatly appreciate your help and look forward to conversing more with you all.

Cheers,
KZsigBZ

I dont own a P5 so I can't answer your question but I just wanted to say hello and welcome you to the forum. BTW the 2.0 only dyno's at apx 100 HP. Turbo's are your friend!! ;)

Rob

Thanks! Although I don't want to add any mods that will void my warranty, so any mods I do decide on will be minimal at most. I assume the 2.0 engine is boost friendly?

Last edited:
Not at all, It hates boost and costs alot of money to hold the power. But once you are set up it is fun as hell ;)

Rob

Hello all! I am the new owner of an 03 sunlight silver protege5. I purchased the car earlier today and I must say I am impressed with the car so far! I will post pics ASAP. As this is my first time dealing with a Mazda (previously owned a Honda) I do have a couple simple questions/problems to ask of you.

It is my assumption that there is only one trim for the Protege5? Therefore they all come with the 2.0 liter 130hp/135tq engine?