Real MPG vs Trip computer

Jays07MS3

:
07 Mazdaspeed3 GT Cosmic Blue
So for the past 2 months I've been keeping track of my mileage both manually (miles driven / gallons to fill up) and with the trip computer. Being an engineer, I'm very methodical about how I go about it to the point that my girlfriend thinks its silly :) But it seems that the trip computer is off by an average of +2.66 mpg on my car. I really wish there was a way to recalibrate it but until then I'll just be stuck doing the math in my head.

Anyways, I just thought some of you might be curious as to the accuracy of the trip computer. But it sure does suck to see how much money I'm spending on gas! (boom04)

mileage.jpg

Attachments

• Mileage.xls
    23.5 KB · Views: 168
Last edited:
Nothing silly about that, I do the same thing. Here's the funny part, mine was like that at first where it would be off by about +2.5 but now it's off by about -.75. My car is telling my I am getting around 27.6 MPG but I am actually getting around 28.5-29 MPG.

So for the past 2 months I've been keeping track of my mileage both manually (miles driven / gallons to fill up) and with the trip computer. .... But it sure does suck to see how much money I'm speeding on gas! (boom04)

Ouch! $3.42/gal?! That does hurt. Of course $3.10 hurts, too.

Very interesting....

Thanks for posting this info. I'm a new MS3 owner, so I'll have to see how mine stacks up.

~Nullmod

Nothing silly about that, I do the same thing. Here's the funny part, mine was like that at first where it would be off by about +2.5 but now it's off by about -.75. My car is telling my I am getting around 27.6 MPG but I am actually getting around 28.5-29 MPG.