Snow tires

Twisted

:
2007 Speed3, Black
I'm a newbie so forgive me if I'm re-covering an old thread, I didn't see anything on this yet so I hope it helps.

I live in Kansas and it snows (duh). Mazda put tires on the Speed3 that react to snow like a 3100lb fat chick on a snowtube. Its a sports car, not a snowmobile, I get that, but I still have to drive in the fluffy white stuff sometimes and I didn't want to spend $800+ on tirerack.com for the Blizzak LM22 snow tires to fit the 18in stock wheels.

Stock tires are 215/45 R 18 and the Blizzak is the only brand I've found to fit that size and profile but the price is too high to pay for a tire you'll run on for 3-4 months. Now if you get some 16" steel wheels and put some 205/60 R16's on them the overall tire diameter is only .3% slower and so close in size you probably couldn't tell with a tapemeasure. Soooo if you are doing sixty miles an hour, you'll actually be doing 60.2 mph on this snow tire setup. Not too big of a difference and the pricing I found below isn't too bad.

Discounttiredirect.com for:

16 x 6.5 5-114.3 black steel wheels - $53.00 /each
Hankook Icebear W300 P205/60R-16 91H B - $66.00 /each

$476 + shipping for wheels and tires.

Tirerack.com

Winterforce M+S 205/60 SR16 - $63.00 /each

$252 + shipping for tires.

The Hankooks have a ton of siping, got good user ratings and you would save money having Discounttiredirect mount them to the steel wheels but the Winterforce tires from Tirerack are much more aggressive (also with a ton of siping) for deep snow. I'm sure Tirerack also offers steel wheels but they make it less than easy to locate them on the website.