Transmission Oil Flush every 30,000 miles $180

fatlard

I talked to service guy at the dealership. They said I need to do a transmission flush every 30,000 miles at $180 for the service.

I studied the manual and it does not give an interval for transmission oil change. What are your thoughts?

If you are sure it is not in your service manual then it is not necessary. My personal opinion is I will do a PAN DRAIN every 30,000 miles but, NOT a flush. $180 is considerably over priced IMO. If you want to have a flush then I would check with a reputable transmission shop for cost comparison. Ed

fatlard said:
I am surprised no else have a thought on this.
Me to fatlard. As a new Mazda owner I don't find the level of interest or enthusiasm as I've found on other car sites/forums (Saab, Subaru Volvo etc) which surprises me. I was used to enthusiasts who rebuilt engines, did brake caliper rebuilding and stuff like that. O-well, maybe it will come. Ed

Last edited:
Hey guys,
I'm one of the clueless who mostly just reads the real car stuff. Until I got the CX-7, I could have sworn I didn't have the car gene. But I love this car and now am interested in learning more. I still have no technical knowledge or skills, so I've been acting out my obsession by learning how to detail and keep my car looking fierce. I seriously doubt I'll ever re-build an engine, but I may buy a porter cable (or the new UDM) to machine polish. And as noted in another thread, I'm inspired & thinking of buying myself new speakers & installing them.

I guess this is my long way of saying please keep posting & talking about stuff. Others may catch up and join in more later, as you note.