Engine Light On ... Need Some Advice

masda

Ok.... someone told me a easy way to clean the injectors was to spary carb cleaner into the air intake up into the engine so what i did was remove the little plug the is connected to the stock air intake and just spary a whole can of carb cleaner as posted in the picture that little plug i unplugged and just sparyed!

It worked fine what happen was now the engine light is on and i don't know why ?! ?! ?

donemedium1ww.jpg

Is this a joke?

If not, the carb cleaner probably nerfed some sensors or something in there. Why dont you go to autozone and get the code read?

i'm a very newbie what's a code read ?

I thought this was good for the car i've done it to my other car's nothing like this has happened including my newer 2004 civic

A check engine light can mean a ton of things.

If you hook up a reader device to your engine computer, it will give you an error code to indicate why the check engine light came on. Autozone will read the error code for free.

Dim said:
Damn, why not just use injector cleaner? $5 well spent...

Seriously! Do you know how much stuff is on the market to run through the fuel system and clean the injectors. Spraying a whole can of carb cleaner into the intake? Wow, do the world a favor and don't use your DIY skills in this method on anyone else's ride.

where can i buy a reader ?

I live in canada we don't have autozone

Most any autoparts store. It will run you $60-200 depending on how fancy you need. There might well be a canadian store like autozone that will rent stuff out to you though.

Seriously! Do you know how much stuff is on the market to run through the fuel system and clean the injectors. Spraying a whole can of carb cleaner into the intake? Wow, do the world a favor and don't use your DIY skills in this method on anyone else's ride.

Seconded. Carb cleaner is extremly nasty and corrosive stuff. I would never reccomend someone spraying it- let alone a full can- into their engine.