FMIC Paranoia.....

:
2003.5 Mazdaspeed Protege
Hello All I am new to the fourm but not new to other Mazda fourms. I have a 2003.5 MSP and current Mods are CS Power Series Exhaust and a Injen CAI and also an Autometer Boost gauge. I have considered buying a FMIC and have really narrowed it down to the BEGI or the Hiboost kit. I am worried though I know really the MSP can only handle 10psi stock and the guy from Hiboost told me I would be at 10psi with my mods. Question# 1 is that BS that I would be running 10psi? Question# 2 If I am running at 10psi I am worried about the integrity fo the engine running at max boost. Question# 3 which is recommended the BEGI or the Hiboost. I am asking on this fourm because it seems plenty of people have the FMIC kit installed and I just won't some reassurance the engine will not blow up if I get this up-grade...Thanks for the help

Will open exhaust and an FMIC really put you at 10psi??? I dont know?
I know when I had a 2.5 apex and a greddy sp-2 along with a custom spearco FMIC I was hitting like 7 or 7.5 psi?? Thats just me.

Welcome to the forums. :D Look around and get ot know everyone here. Most of us are helpful and want to see you get to know your car and us better.

Here are a few links that might help ya out

http://www.msprotege.com/forum/showthread.php?t=86698 -SMIC and FMIC info

http://www.msprotege.com/forum/showthread.php?t=89457 -EMS options for the MSP

Well, I cant see how having those mods will make you run 10 psi when the stock actuator opens at 6-6.5 psi.

Ther is no "max" boost the engine can handle, as many guys are running 14-15 PSI daily and not having issues, then again people have popped engines with only stock levels. Its alot to do with the driver and conditions in which the car is driven in. I personally would not boost over 7-8 psi without supporting mods "injectors, fuel/timing managment ect ect"

boostisgood said: