Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: error code P0106 ???wtf

  1. #1
    Registered Member tekkie's Avatar
    Donated: $20

    Spicy MSP

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Clarkston, MI
    Posts
    2,644

    error code P0106 ???wtf

    ok my car keeps throwing the error P0106 which is

    P0106 Manifold Absolute Pressure (MAP) System Performance

    (boom07)

    ok our car does not have a MAP so thats screwed, is it smart enough to be sensing the emanage one and thats why its throwing the error?

    car runs fine but the CEL drives me nuts

    any ideas ??

    In process!!!
    A totally different car than I had before


  2. #2
    The King of Kings boostisgood's Avatar

    1988 FC3S TII

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Greentree PA
    Posts
    3,195
    Its probably an issue with the BARO meter. (Can read as a MAP)
    "Though battered and scarred, I march on through the wars, and strife. I march on."

    Antoine Says:
    This forum is a privilege, not a right. Treat this forum as you would any social environment. As a user, you are expected to understand that the same rules of respect, understanding, and cause-consequence that apply to real life social environments apply here as well.

  3. #3
    No more MP3 Bigg Tim's Avatar

    MazdaSpeed 6

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,749
    I thought we had a 1 bar map sensor on the car somewhere.
    Custom 3" turbo back exhaust, Fujita CAI, MPI reworked stock turbo, Blitz SBC-id EBC, HKS BOV, SU motor mount, RX-8 wheels and autoEXE "low down" springs

    MPI SW and key: go to post #56 and post# 94 for instructions
    /forum/showt...09#post2013109

  4. #4
    Banned Brian MP5T's Avatar
    Donated: $5

    MP5T / 944

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Posts
    10,882
    On The MSP perhaps. I have never seen it anywhere and my car has been completely seperated from itself...


  5. #5
    WTFPWN3D NeverSober's Avatar

    06 wrx

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    2,283
    I dont know how many times I have seen that picture haha...but in the words of spicymc, get soem new material...haha



    Quote Originally Posted by Liquid_Ag
    0-1000 rpm : ha
    1000-2000 rpm : heehee
    2000-3000 rpm : meh
    3000-4000 rpm : eh
    4000-5000 rpm : ahhh im spent
    5000-6000 rpm : hahahahaah
    6000-6500 rpm : why are you here?
    (owned)

  6. #6
    Banned Brian MP5T's Avatar
    Donated: $5

    MP5T / 944

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Posts
    10,882
    Sucks Eh...

  7. #7
    750whp quest has begun... BlkZoomZoom's Avatar
    Donated: $40

    Hemi Ram, 71 Plymth Scamp, 71 Plymth Duster 340, 69 Dart 340/4sp

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    4,274
    Yes we have a map/baro sensor. It is located behind the passengerside strut tower. It has a vacuum line routed to the intake manifold directly above the altenator. It is the one that has a hose connected to itself.
    Performance:
    -Mazdaspeed-13.15 @ 105.6mph (zoom zoom)
    Mods:
    stock intake, stock pipes, stock turbo, stock intercooler, stock engine, stock ecu, stock tranny........ Wanna run?
    -Best Mph to date: 112.
    Gone, but not forgotten.

  8. #8
    Banned Brian MP5T's Avatar
    Donated: $5

    MP5T / 944

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario
    Posts
    10,882
    Quote Originally Posted by BlkZoomZoom
    Yes we have a map/baro sensor. It is located behind the passengerside strut tower. It has a vacuum line routed to the intake manifold directly above the altenator. It is the one that has a hose connected to itself.
    That is so funny, I removed it three years ago...

  9. #9
    Registered Member tekkie's Avatar
    Donated: $20

    Spicy MSP

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Clarkston, MI
    Posts
    2,644
    Quote Originally Posted by BlkZoomZoom
    Yes we have a map/baro sensor. It is located behind the passengerside strut tower. It has a vacuum line routed to the intake manifold directly above the altenator. It is the one that has a hose connected to itself.
    yeah Azian6er said last night thats what he thought as well, I will have a look at it and see

    I took the thing off when I was putting my strut bar on and maybe one of the wires - hoses is loose or something
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  10. #10
    Registered Member tekkie's Avatar
    Donated: $20

    Spicy MSP

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Clarkston, MI
    Posts
    2,644
    sure enough your right, one of the connectors that went to it was unplugged I guess I forgot to plug it in

    thanks for the help guys my car should finally be CEL free woooohhooo
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  11. #11
    Red 5 Standing by Rogue's Avatar
    Donated: $15

    2003 Mazdaspeed Protegé

    Join Date
    Nov 1979
    Location
    Roswell, GA
    Posts
    7,902
    I'm having this same code. Checked the MAP/BRO sensor, and I don't have a tube there at all. Must have been lost when I swapped in the new motor. I'm lost to as where it connects to, though. I took a picture of where I think it goes based on what I read.

    1st pic - MAP/BRO sensor
    2nd pic - nipple on intake manifold
    Attached Images Attached Images

    2018 Mazda CX-5 GT-AWD
    2003 Mazdaspeed Protegé #530
    2013 Mazda3
    2002 Mazda Protegé5

  12. #12
    MOTM Winner Jan '09 Kooldino's Avatar
    Donated: $20
    Authorized Vendor

    MP3

    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    11,653
    Rogue - it connects basically in the area that you highlighted. put your hand down there around the VICS/VTCS solenoids on the IM, towards the bottom, and you'll feel the nipple sticking out.
    Vivid Yellow MP3 - SpeedCircuit Turbo Kit @ 14-19 psi - SpeedCircuit forged motor - SpeedCircuit built trans with PAR gears & M-FactoryLSD - and FAR too many mods to list. 13.3 @ 108 - 18psi on the T3 in 2005
    Be sure to check out SpeedCircuit on facebook!

    Pope MSP Turbo Manifolds on sale now!

  13. #13
    Red 5 Standing by Rogue's Avatar
    Donated: $15

    2003 Mazdaspeed Protegé

    Join Date
    Nov 1979
    Location
    Roswell, GA
    Posts
    7,902
    thanx
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  14. #14
    P1kaChu Haz P4rts 4 yU0 Captain KRM P5's Avatar
    Donated: $15

    2002 BJFW, 2007 BK3P, 1979 SA22C, 2005 BK3P

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Grayslake, IL
    Posts
    20,503
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigg Tim
    I thought we had a 1 bar map sensor on the car somewhere.
    you are correct. the car has one bar mitsubishi map sensor near the strut bar mount on the passenger side.

  15. #15
    walking middle finger wicked's Avatar

    2003.5msp

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    norcal
    Posts
    2,897
    I thought it was EVAP boost switch?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •