how to for brakes / rotor install?

dosle

:
2k3.5 p5 ftw!
Does anyone have some advice or give me tips on replacing my stock rotors? I bought 4 all around slotted rotors and new front pads and i hope to install them this weekend, I have never done this before so is it pretty easy?

thanks

It's real easy. I believe there is a how-to thread on this. When you do the rears there is a cap on the back of the caliper you remove and there will be a allenhead screw you turn to suck the caliper piston in. You'll see when you get in there. Don't forget to install the rotors in the proper left and right positions. In other words, step back and make sure the front and rear look like they spin the same direction. The boxes should be marked and the rotors stamped with left or right on them. Good luck!!

I think all you have to do is take off the brake caliper, take off the old pad, use a hammer to hit the brake rotor serveral times(because of the rust), take off the old brake rotor,install the new pad, new rotor, and put things back to original.

What brake rotor did you get? I want two for the front:)

slkt said:
I think all you have to do is take off the brake caliper, take off the old pad, use a hammer to hit the brake rotor serveral times(because of the rust), take off the old brake rotor,install the new pad, new rotor, and put things back to original.

What brake rotor did you get? I want two for the front:)

seems fairly simple.

i bought 4 powerslot slotted rotors from protegegarage.com

dosle said:
seems fairly simple.

damm.. my powerslots warped in the back (at least one of them)

now gotta change them.... but i got the MSP big brake upgrade for the fronts (crazy)

dosle said:
seems fairly simple.

Yea, you'll know what to do when you're doing it. May be it takes 15-20 mins??? Good luck~! Remember to post some pics after you install them:)