gas type on the 6s ~ 87 or 89?

well, after running two tanks of 87 through my car, I didn't really notice any difference besides different fuel economy.. I got 30.2mpg doing mostly fast highway miles (70-80mph) which is pretty incredible.. I'm not complaining.

right now, i fill 87, but ONLY from BP or Mobil... and that is as expesive as gettin' 89 from other normal gas stations... so i might fill up 89 in the next tank and see...

After late unfortunate incident (Engine Blown) I'm hopoing for a better MPG friendly one in place of it :) Wish me luck!

Always 87 for me. Usually they recommend premium fuel if it is at all necessary and in the case of this car it is not recommended. I am not an expert but why not just do what the manual says of you care about your pocketbook at all.

Quick FYI: If you have a Speedway/SuperAmerica gas station near you, find out what type of gas they get. Different locations get different brands of gas. Many actually get Marathon or Shell gas, but sell the gas up to $.10 less per gallon.

seanmcsean said:
how the hell did you blow your engine
suposedly it may have fell under a 03 recall. I didn't do anything out of the ordinary. Warmed it up and drove in auto mode. climbing a hill I just made it to the top when it blew and I coasted down the hill. With oil light on a cloud of smoke and strong smell of 0W-20 coating a hot engine, tranny, and heat shield I got out and poped the hood to see oil everywhere and engine fragments in under carrage splash guard. Back to basics no mods and break in period all over again. engine should arrive early this moring sometime but who knows how long it will take for them to clean up and install it. The thing that pissed me off the most is the car is soo sensitive to cels but not even one misfire code when pistons punch holes thru engine?

Garfinkle said: