06 Mazda 5 Vibration and loud noise while in drive

Hello,

This is my first post. I am new to mazda247.com However I am not new to auto forums. Anyways. I have been searching at can't quite find what I'm looking for.

So my wifes Mazda 5 (58k miles) has this vibration/ noise issue when in drive. It is smooth while driving but noisy. When stopped say at a light it is noisy and vibrates a lot. The only time its quiet is when I put it in neutral or park. I can rev it all day and its quiet and smooth in park or neutral. Also quiet and smooth in reverse. I think its safe to say the engine can be left out of this. I will check my engine mounts today as I have read a lot of suggestions about that. Also I can't tell if my ears are playing tricks on me but It got this way in a short period of time and feels like its getting a little worse every day. But I'm not sure. anyways. thanks all!

You didn't say what the noise sounds like. If it is a clanking sound you should check if the heat shield running along the length of the car above exhaust has come loose. This is a common problem with all cars.

Pull the Transmission dipstick and examine the ATF Fluid...

Is there fluid>?
What color is the fluid?
What does it smell like?

Sounds like a bad right side (passenger) motor mount. Super easy to replace. Those things are hydraulic and take the brunt of the isolation.

I agree with motor mount as being the culprit, but I would definitely check the ATF. I just checked mine for the first time around 30k and it was dark brown. Mazda has no change interval, perhaps because they want to sell you a new transmission some day.

You didn't say what the noise sounds like. If it is a clanking sound you should check if the heat shield running along the length of the car above exhaust has come loose. This is a common problem with all cars.

OK, so somehow I didn't see this post almost 1 mo ago...