What MPG are you getting???

Oh right, the SkyA-D. Yes that is questionable for diesels. There are many theories out there that accelerating swiftly in the sweet spot of the diesel BSFC map then coasting can lead to marginally better fuel economy. I have yet to test a modern diesel in such a manner granted I've had some experience with the twin turbo BMW 3.0L diesel and the notorious 4cyl VW/Audi TDI. Both obviously return great gas mileage without effort in paying attention to light throttle inputs.

Do you have the air con on normal or eco setting? you get a few mpg extra when a/c is off. I'd have thought you should be getting 45 plus. It was 10deg C on the day I had my best ever mpg and today it was 13 deg' but apart from these 2 days it's been under 8 deg since I had the car.

I keep it on ECO all the time.
Maybe now that the weather is getting warmer I will see a mpg improvement.

Well, I've never read or heard someone say its better to accelerate slowly. My short trip to work has a 2 km section where I accelerate from zero to 75 mph. Accelerating slowly would mean I am still trying to reach 75 by the time I leave the motorway, consumption is around 30 mpg. Where as a sharp acceleration then a min of cruise, then coasting to a stop, gives me a much lower consumption, as shown on the on board computer or the range I manged on that tank.

I tried this a few times especially with my previous golf petrol with dsg, trying to find out if I can get a better consumption using paddles or leaving it in auto. Result was best consumption was sharp acceleration, don't use cruise control and coasting to a stop, auto was always better than manual, was by far the best way, and this is the findings of similar test I have read.

My aircon off, Eco or on only makes a small difference to consumption.