What did you pay for your CX-5?

Hello, a couple of newbie questions here.

Second, am I reading right that folks are actually getting their cars for around invoice out the door in some cases? Can anyone point me to a guide for what we should be expecting to pay in terms of licensing, dealer fees, delivery and other BS they throw on to make the offer price look better than it really is, and how to argue these down? Having never bought a new car before (CPO made sense right up until a couple of years ago), I'm new to this game.

You are going to pay a $795 delivery fee for any 2014 CX-5 you buy. There is no negotiating there. As far as negotiating goes, i am no expert, but i have been told by people who sold cars for a living a few pieces of advice.

1) Never tell them what price you want in terms of a monthly payment. They will find a way to make it work that eventually works in their favor.

2) Negotiate the price of the car first and then the trade-in value after the sale price is firm. If you are just looking for a certain price, they will give you a deal on the car and then less for your trade-in, or vice versa.

3) (i didn't do this)- but one (former salesman) friend told me to go in and offer 'cash plus'. Basically, you offer to pay what the dealership paid for the car plus a certain amount. He said the dealership is legally obligated to tell you what they paid for the car. So if you just tell them you will pay that plus a thousand dollars for example, that sometimes reduces the haggling. That way they make money on the car, and you get a deal that's under MSRP. Someone else can confirm or deny this.

4) Know your stuff. Know what you want (or at least want to test drive) before you go to the dealership. Answer as many questions for yourself that you can. I have found that on most of my test-drives, i knew more than the salesman about the car.