Tire pressure

Mike72771

:
Mazda3 5-Door
Hi guys,

I have a silly question that I popped in a search and came up with nada.
I just bought a Mazda3 5 Door. I've been driving SUV's for the past ten years and I'm a little out of the loop as far as little car handling.

The recommended PSI on the door is 32 I think it feels squishy but that could just be the result of me being used to the ride of a truck. I noticed the dealer had the max PSI of 45 on all four tires. Question is should I go with the door sticker or fill it back up to max PSI?

What would you all suggest?

Mike

Gah!!! Don't drive around at max psi!!!

First try setting the PSI at 32 (as per factory specs). If you don't like that, try 34-36. A little bit more psi will stiffen the ride up a bit, but reduce sidewall rollover in a harsh turn, and also reinforce the sidewalls a bit against bumps/potholes.

Going from 45 to 32 will most likely not only increase your traction, but greatly increase your ride comfort.

I'd investigate finding another dealership, cause overinflating your tires to 45 says volumes about their competence.

The cars are shipped from the factory with very high pressures, like 45PSI, to avoid flatspotting during transport (this applies to most cars, not just the Mazda3). Dealers are supposed to lower them back to the appropriate pressures during the car's PDI. Some dealers forget to do this, and so customers may notice their vehicle having such high pressures.

Be near the PSI levels on the door sticker.

Thanks

Thanks for the replies guys.

I dropped the pressure to 32 when I took delivery on Saturday. Ill leave it at 32 PSI and tool around for a few days. I will do my best to avoid potholes, I used to aim for them in the truck (lol2) (wrc)