Water Injection

chdesign

Ok eveyone I think i have decided not to fool wiht an intercooler and do a water injection setup. Much higher effeicincy and alot less space and less conspicuos (spelling?) Let me know what you all think.

What kit do you plan to use? Jackson Racing? I know thats what the miata guys use but no real replacement for an air/air or air to water intercooler.

I'm looking at the Spearco kit. The Jackson Racing kit is close to 700 bucks but I found hte company our of england that makes the kit for them and its only 450 through them. I htink I'm still going to put the top mount in for now with a fan blowing beneath it. I knew i would have to get a high flow fan but I have to get an 8" fan so I found one that flows close to 1000 CFM that I'm going to use. That should cut the heat down some.

I'm no expert but I believe in screwing with the existing equipment the least possible. I'd suggest separate circulation for the turbo.

The only thing I modified on my stock cooling system was i rerouted teh coolant lines to instead of heating the throttle body it cools the turbo and hot water is not circulated through the throttle body. The water injection is stand alone. Has its own pump resevor and everything.

Hmmm...

It's tough to say. I think depending on how you go, you might have to put some kind of venting in the hood becuase of the heat.

A small cowl induction type thing might work over an air to air intercooler.

You don't have to put holes in the hood with an air to water intercooler.

I don't know about the water injection.

Thats a tough call. the plumming for that can get really tricky. It all depends on how you drive. The air to air IC's are more efficient at high speeds as opposed to the air to water coolers are better at low speeds

ERL vs. Spearco