2014 CX-5 Interior Rust

stylez123

:
2014 CX-5
Hello all,

This is my first time posting on this forum. Last year I purchased a 2014 CX-5 from a dealers auction. I felt like I was screwed over after realizing that the interior of the vehicle was not as described. Below each of the front seats is severe rust, which is extremely noticeable. The entire frame of the seats are rusted. On the carpet there is also what looks to be mild signs of mildew. Aside from that, the car has no issue and runs very smoothly. The engine looks like its in good shape. My question is, are these guaranteed signs that the car was a flood car? A buddy of mine who took a look at the car stated that it could be snow + salt damage given the car came from the Northeast. However, I am skeptical given the extensive nature of the rust. I tried to look at the other parts of the car (like the spare tire compartment), but there was no signs of flooding there. Any ideaS?

I attempted to start an arbitration process at the auction, suspecting the car could be a flood vehicle. The Auction ultimately stated that the car was not a flood vehicle so there was nothing they could do.

My problem is that I am now looking to sell the car but would am apprehensive given the rust. Is it possible to get the rust taken care of? I am guessing perhaps it would require removing both front seats? Looking forward to your thoughts.

Thanks!

It could be that the car has leaked in water, and gone unnoticed.

I've read of only one uk owner with this problem, who quickly got rid. The posts are buried in the UK thread, "anyone fancy a cuppa".

Purchased from dealers auction whom stated it was not flooded? Either they are lying or maybe a previous owner was transporting those large multi-gallon containers and water spilled? How much was the car?

I purchased it last year for $15,750 with about 34k miles.