First car with AWD - any advice on how to maintain the wheels?

zoomerang

:
CX-5
Sorry for the multiple posts here but just bought a 2017 CX-5 Touring and have lots of questions. (uhm)

This is my first car with AWD. I am reading up on how best to maintain them and wondering if there is any suggestions from forum members. I live in Northern Cal so don't have to deal with snow except if I go to Tahoe for the weekend. Only weather issue to take into account is rainy winters. Should I get special tires for the back wheels? winter set? summer set?

TIA

hey zoomerang,
I've been driving an AWD BMW X3 for about 8 years now honestly from a maintenance perspective, there's really no difference.
you'll run the same tires front and rear and no need for winter / summer sets if you're in NorCal and don't have severe weather.

Enjoy the car!

hey zoomerang,
I've been driving an AWD BMW X3 for about 8 years now honestly from a maintenance perspective, there's really no difference.
you'll run the same tires front and rear and no need for winter / summer sets if you're in NorCal and don't have severe weather.

Enjoy the car!

Ok, whew! Glad to know that AWD is not a big deal - I was sweating the decision of whether to get FWD or AWD and decided to go for AWD since that is what was mostly available.

Thanks so much Jedi! Definitely enjoying my zoom zoom!

With regards to tires, your best AWD performance will come with all 4 tires matching.

Not only just brand and size, but also tread depth., making regular, consistent, and periodic tire rotations of greater importance with AWD.

I recommend rotation every oil change in order to get maximum life and performance.

Enjoy the new CX-5! A great car for the fun roads of Northern California.
(yippy)

Yes, the only thing to watch out for is the tires. Make sure the pressures are equal and if you have a blow out on one tire, you may need to change two or four tires at once.

Last edited: