Need tips on Products and Procedures to Fully Detail This Car

Agroskater

:
CX-5 2016.5
Last edited:
I am new to Detailing, this is what i am doing (assuming your car is relatively new and has no major scratches)

Get a Meguiar's Detailing Kit from Amazon, Ultimate Microfiber Duster from Amazon - $68 total (Meg kit is $10 off now - $38 + $30).
For bi weekly maintenance on a dark CX-5 :
Microfiber brush to clean the dust.
Quick Detailer QD with a micro fiber to clean up spots etc. Bird droppings etc. - If you have water spots this should clean it, else read up this thread:
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-articles/29134-how-remove-water-spots-hand.html

Good wash maybe once 2 months:
Meguiars Wash with Microfiber Mitt.
+ Dry the vehicle.
+ Quick Wax to keep the shine.

You can optionally Dry the vehicle using QD as well to clean a bit more - not sure if QD followed by QW is harmful.

Once a year - Wash + Clay to get surface contaminants out + Wash (optional or soak only) + Good Wax.
Claying is not needed on whole CX-5 front, back and sides below handle is more than enough.

Once you have a few years on this and need to restore then the steps change and you may need protectant / Wax combination.

Other products in the Kit include Window and Tire washer, a scratch X spray and a Plastic Spray. I will use the scratch on my older Corolla. Lots of wild buffalos in drive through safari's fought near it and scratched it (bang)

This recommendation is based on my ability to work detailing and also not breaking the bank. You can ofcourse go Hardcore and use water filtration / zero spot water systems to cost upto a 1000$ easily.

For a lighter vehicle I would inspect and maybe wash in 3 months and clean every 3 weeks. Now if you have a Silver one, Wash every presidential election and you are good.

... Now if you have a Silver one, Wash every presidential election and you are good.
(lol2) That's part of reason why we always get new vehicles with silver exterior ...