Compass Options?

seanof30306

:
Looking to buy a 2016 CX-5
OK, I'm a newb, this is my first post here.

I've been driving my 1996 Jeep Cherokee for 19 1/2 years, and it's about worn out. It's time for a new ride.

I've done a ton of research, and have arrived at the decision that I want a CX-5.

I went and drove one today, and was really impressed. It lived up to all of it's rave reviews.

I gotta have one!

There are a few things I need to figure out before I can buy, though. The first is the compass.

This will sound silly, but I have to have one. My Jeep Cherokee has an overhead console with a temperature display and a compass. I've been looking at them every day for nearly 19 years. I didn't understand how addicted I've become to the temp display and the compass till the ones on my Jeep died about 9 months ago. The module was over 500 bucks, so I haven't fixed it, and I REALLY miss it; especially the compass.

One of my frustrations with the CX-5 is, in order to get the adaptive cruise control and lane departure warning features I really want, I can't get the mirror with the compass.

In my searching on here, I've seen this is a common complaint, and a lot of people resolve it by retrofitting the mirror with the compass in it. The problem with that solution is, another thing I've become addicted to is the wide-angle rearview mirror I've been using for the last 10 years, or so. It goes over the factory mirror, so it would obscure the compass display.

Is there a better solution that sticking one of those 7.99 amazon.com specials on the dash?

I've been searching, and I found this: http://www.dakotadigital.com/index....ct_id=952/category_id=-1/mode=prod/prd952.htm

That's actually a gauge for Harley Davidsons. I'm going to call them on Monday and get the dimensions for the gauge, and see if they think it could be adapted.

Has anyone found a different solution?