The "Support Car"

matalexander

:
2003 Mazda Protege5
Hey everyone, I'm brand new to the forum and about to start to dive into the Protege5 so I figued I'd join the community and start to really learn these cars. So a little about myself and how I ended up here.

I'm a pretty big BMW guy and I'd say that's where homebase is for me in the automotive world. However, I'm still a college student and my last BMW kind of had it's way with me and I needed a little of a financial break. In my search for something under $3k and not a Civic or an Accord but still fun and stickshift, I found the Protege! I bought it on a complete whim. My Dad and I were getting ready to look at about 3 Accords Saturday and on the same morning I decide to give CL a check to see if anything I couldn't think of popped up and sure enough it was this. I did a 15 mins google search and everything said it was good. We test drove it and by 1pm I had it in my driveway.

That was back in July. From the second I pulled out of the dealer lot for a test drive I said "Oh yes this is the one". The steering was sharp and on point, the engine had a nice throaty grumble to it, the shifter bushings were good and tight, and generally felt like a nice tight build. I've used to carry my entire apartment, engines, 50" TV's, wheels and tires, tables, every tool I own at once, the works. It's fantastic, really.