Regular Maintenance at Dealer or Independent?

Rarebit

Contributor
:
Mazda CX-5 2015 GT AWD
When I was a starving student I did all my own work on cars, but from the time I bought my first new car, I've have 90% of the maintenance and repairs done at dealers.

I think this has the following advantages when you find a good dealer:
  1. They work only on one brand of car, and have deep experience in that one brand, of which there are only a few models.
  2. They have all the specialized tools, up to date information from the manufacturer, and are warranty approved
  3. They have an incentive to keep you happy - you may be back to buy your next new vehicle from them
  4. They receive pressure from manufacturers to keep customers happy
Of course this doesn't always work out. The car I owned longest (95 Volvo 850T - 15 years) was serviced by 3 different dealers, and 2 of them were crooks who checked off the work as "done" on the work orders but didn't actually do it.

Dealers are also more expensive than most independents. (See "Phishing for Phools - The Economics of Manipulation and Deception")

But what's your experience, and would you recommend dealers for maintenance:
A. During the time the warranty is still in place?
B. After the warranty expires?

I would appreciate reading your experience and points of view.

I take mine to the dealer. They know the correct tq specs for all the nuts and bolts, any "quirky stuff" like how my Infiniti had the rear calipers screwed in on the brakes instead of compressed in (you screwed them in like big screws to change pads), and little things like that that an independent shop may/may not yet know.