Sensitive Accellerator

Tom95134

:
Mazda CX-5 GT with Technology Package
I have been driving a Toyota Prius for the past 7 years and just took delivery of my new RED CX-5 GT with the Tech Package. NICE CAR!!

The one thing I am having a hard time getting use to is the very sensitive accelerator. I got use to the immediate torque of the Prius but the CX-5 seems to be even more sensitive and it feels like I'm coming off the line at a race when I barely touch the pedal.

Any comments?

Tom

They do tend to lurch off the line a bit if you're not careful. What I've learned to do is anticipate the light changing and take my foot off the brake just before it does to allow the car to take off on it's own just a bit before I get on the gas. This makes for a smoother start.

I have been driving a Toyota Prius for the past 7 years and just took delivery of my new RED CX-5 GT with the Tech Package. NICE CAR!!

The one thing I am having a hard time getting use to is the very sensitive accelerator. I got use to the immediate torque of the Prius but the CX-5 seems to be even more sensitive and it feels like I'm coming off the line at a race when I barely touch the pedal.

Any comments?

Tom

I find the CX-5 to be the exact opposite. Linear drive by wire throttle. I actually wish it had more pick up from a dig, but can't expect much from a NA 4 banger even with direct injection and the 4-2-1 header.

Any comments?

Tom
I've noticed the accelerator pedal is very linear in response. This makes it feel more powerful off the line and less powerful at higher speeds. But it takes all of five minutes to learn how to drive it in all situations.

Go test drive a Camaro, a Corvette and a Mustang. The CX-5 will feel very tame when you're done.