Poor gas mileage

HowardUK

:
CX-5 FWD TOURING
8 month old FWD Touring with over 7700 miles. City driving 5-6 days/week. Fill up weekly avg 172m/tank
Around town I am currently averaging 16.7MPG (per dash) which is down from a Sept high of 17.2MPG.
The dealer did not note anything of concern at my last oil change/inspection. However, after reading these fantastic mileage posts and, the main reason for owning this vehicle was FOR the fantastic gas mileage, I am, so far, very disappointed with my results. But, I am confident, that this situation can be rectified.

Have you ever reset your avg MPG count from tank to tank? or is the 16.7 for the whole 7,700 miles? it's unbelievable that the MPG can be that low. I am a very VERY aggressive driver of an AWD GT and the lowest I saw was around 25 MPG 50% city 50% highway

This ^ . Also, letting it idle for a long period of time will definitely kill your MPG. I am located in NYC, and I have no problem getting AT LEAST 28mpg mixed driving. That is with a the heaviest (fully loaded) CX-5 with AWD.

The 16.7 avg is for the entire 7700 plus miles, the majority of which is around NYC.
How do you reset the avg MPG? My tire pressure seems ok but I am considering replacing the air filter.

The 16.7 avg is for the entire 7700 plus miles, the majority of which is around NYC.
How do you reset the avg MPG? My tire pressure seems ok but I am considering replacing the air filter.

Press and hold the "middle" of the info button located in the steering wheel.

More stop than go in NYC traffic, often faster to walk.

What does it show as your AVERAGE SPEED on your dash?

I am getting really poor gas mileage too, but when I checked my average speed with mixed city and highway driving, the average speed is 29mph for me...