Transfer case leak repair [permanent & cheap ]

mnthny4

:
MAZDASPEED 6 AWD
Ok here goes ,note this worked for me since 5k miles ago, firstly if u find your transfer case leaking from the casing & u don't have the time to R&R transfer box then this is what i did ,went to HOME DEPOT bought a can of flexible rubber leak repair spray ,cost $10.00 ,some scottbite & a can of brake clean ,note i did not buy those cause i work in a shop ,but anyways clean all oil residue from transfer casing ,then after that apply two thin coats of the rubber leak repair sealant ,allow to set for about 1/2 hour start & drive car to let bake even more ,note u will smell the coating for a few days when u stand outside & near the engine area but thats all ,now u r leak free ,as i said mines been done from 5k mile ago & still very much dry no more leak for me ,just make sure to mask off areas that u do not want to spray cause it will be there forever once dried ,good luck to all .

Last edited:
Just re-check after now 7k miles, still dry, no leaks ,sealer hard as a rock ,so permanent & cheap repairs still holding .

yo im def gonna try this, mines been sweating for a while now. tired of smelling gear oil thru my vents.. any specific brand? ive never used that stuff

Home depot only sells the one brand ,but i went to walgreens the other day & saw them selling one in the as seen on tv section in the store ,as far as i know they all work the same ,just pricing is different ,but it does work ,note u will smell it for a while till its baked on from outside standing infront of vehicle ,good luck.

DOING my every 2k mile oil change again ,check for pto leak still dry ,so again permanent & cheap oil leak repairs still holding .

Thanks for this fix, I'm hoping to do it this weekend. Is yours still holding up dry?

Regarding the supplies, what is Scottbite?
Do you have to use a lift or could you put the car on 4 jackstands? I was afraid that on the jackstands you'll get the rubber sealant everywhere...