Stage1+ Vs. Stage2+ Losing PSI in Stage 2+

Empurfektion

:
B00STD MS6
I noticed today my car was only holding 16-17PSI with a Stage 2+ MSCAI Map. So I did a test run from 2nd gear through 5th Gear to see what was going on. Sure enough, it was only holding 16-17 PSI and sometimes 18.
Well, I came home, loaded a Stage 1+ MSCAI Map and reset the ECU and had to drive to the city anyway so that put on 70 miles while the car was relearning everything. I came back to the same exact spot (Nice long straight away with nothing around) and floored it again from 2nd thru 5th again. This time I was holding 18-19 PSI. The car felt a touch more powerful in the Stage1+.
I data logged both maps and was just curious on if anyone could help me out here. I'm still learning and figuring out these numbers so any input would be much appreciated.

Also, I asked on the COBB section here if my car was setup for Stage2+ and I got a few responses that it was. So I tested it out. I'm thinking after this, I need to stick with Stage1+ if I want the most power (I switch maps like I do underwear based on how I feel that morning).

Thanks!

Attachments

• Datalog 3-26-2010 Stage1+.xls
    13 KB · Views: 175
  • datalog 3-26-2010 Stage2+.xls
    14 KB · Views: 187
I'll say this with a grain of salt (can you do that?)

The Cobb OTS maps are tested and tuned to run with the exact setup quoted in the map. If you load the Stg1+MSCAI map with a downpipe, there are no guarantees what you'll get. One would assume you'd be fine... but the sensitivity of sensors and the precise calculations made by the ECU of a direct injection hi-strung hi-boost factory car don't leave a lot on the table. There's no sensor for "backpressure", but a MAP designed around the expected flow of the OEM downpipe will not be a good match across several parameters with an aftermarket DP. Your case is not unusual.