How to change front brake pads

This is a step-by-step how-to for changing front brake pads. I did not remove the rotors (tried, but couldn't get the screws undone).

Disclaimer: I am not a certified mechanic. Heck...I'm not even mechanically inclined. Keep in mind this is my first time to ever work on brakes. These photos and text are a demonstration of how I did the brake change on my wife's CX-9. Much of the know-how here was obtained from YouTube videos and info from a buddy. So follow at your own risk. (screwy)

TOOLS
Mazda is metric. Lugnuts/bolts are 21mm and 17mm sockets. Other tools used are in the photo below:
1a.jpg

I had no clue where to put the jack stands. The lifting jack is exactly where the manual says it goes. So I put jack stands under various parts of the frame as additional support. Yeah...I'm clueless, but at least it was extra safe.
1b.jpg

Brakes are ceramics from AutoZone. They include the clips and a packet of lube.
1c.jpg

Last edited:
Be sure to put blocks behind and in front of the rear tires. There's a point in the process where I put the vehicle in neutral to spin the rotors for sanding.
2a.jpg

After removing the wheel/tire with a 21mm deep socket for lugnuts and a cordless impact drill, the first thing I did was remove the brake line from the holder closest to the brake.
3a.jpg

Using pliers, I pulled the spring tab, then pushed the cable away from me to free the metal housing, then completely free of the holder.
3b.jpg

Last edited:
You need an impact screwdriver for drum and rotor removal.

NEVER put weight on non jack points. You may be supporting the vehicle by body only, causing major damage. Alway use the jack points.

But where exactly are the other jack points? Nothing in the manual, and nothing online regarding this. I even posted the question in a thread and received zero responses.

Removal of the first caliper piece.
4a.jpg

Bolts after removal. The longer bolt goes on top.
4b.jpg