DIY : Painting Badges

Vaku

:
2008 Mazda 3
2nd post, thought id contribute in some way! might have already been done but always good to get a fresh DIY tutorial ;P

I did this last week, in the process of doing the rears now -

As its my first time doing something like this I just thought I would focus on the front flying M before I did the rear badges.

Equipment I used:

ivzs4y.jpg

Bleach
Ice cream container
Gloves
Sand Paper
Primer
Paint
Clear
Brush

My method was to change the bleach twice a day (or when it went completely black) and brush the emblems a few times a day also, I guess it worked well.

Im not sure if it makes any difference but I sealed the container throughout this process and left it outside because bleach has a strong odor.

in total it will take you around 3-4 days from start to finish if you want to do it properly.

note: use gloves always!

so first I put the emblems in the bleach bath , just used enough to cover them no point drowning the emblems in bleach.

9gbupl.jpg

generally this is what the bleach will look like after a few hours, in the later stages it will be completely black.

9u8d9x.jpg

after 24hrs this is how they looked.. eek, brush heavily at this point to reduce buildup of crap over emblem.

280npth.jpg

after 48hrs you can see how most of the chrome was now gone.

2wcejqs.jpg

72hrs or so, and a bit of sanding =
I still could have gone for another bleach bath but it was good enough imo.

2eyf8dv.jpg

I put the primer down (x2), looked good already imo :p

2h3qttk.jpg

put the black down (x2), its actually a gloss black despite it looking matt in this pic.

30cskgj.jpg

then for the clear coat (x3) which IMO is essential for making it look awesome

end result :

i5ndrc.jpg

fitted

2rh5rh4.jpg

Great write-up. Don't know yet if I'm going to do the bleach bath method or just sand. Any tips on getting the front and rear emblems off? Also, how long did you wait between each coat during the painting process?

Last edited: