Aftermarket Stereo Install Questions...

Hello All!

I am new to the form, but I have been looking down the threads and have been amazed that there isn't more talk about how to install after market stereos. I just have the CX-9 Sport with the basic stereo, no Bose, no Nav, none of that because I wanted to put something in there that I chose. I found a great deck, but now I am in a position where I can't find any install kits AND I can't find any pictures of kits that people have created.

I have seen a couple pictures of installed stereos and they look nice, but what I want to see is a picture of the self created install kit the people used. So if you are one of those brilliant folks who created their own install kit, please post some pictures of just the piece you fabricated so I can get some ideas.

Any help in this area would be much appreciated! :)

P.S. I am interested in Double Din install only.

Close, but not exactly...

Thanks for that input, it is exactly the kind of information I am looking for, something that shows how someone created what they needed. But in the case of the Alpine, what I think they did was take a single din install kit for thier car and created a double din install kit out of it.

The difference here is that they at least started with an install kit that was for their car, so the mounting and shape was right to start with, they just needed to change the opening of the kit. In my case there is not install kit at all for the CX-9 so I need to start from total scratch.

But like I said, thank you for the input, it's definitley along the lines of what I am talking about. :)

I was in the same delima about 18 month's ago. I decided to keep the stock deck and use a JL Audio Clean Sweep till an install kit is available.