Just got a 2007 mazdaspeed6 and have questions

Ok, so I am not new to the world of turbos but I am new to the factory turbo and tuning world of Mazda though. The basics of turbo are simple, push as much cold boost into the engine as possible without blowing it up. Obviously ever motor has it limitations before rods crunch into little pieces but these motors seem built as well as the first gen DSM engines in the AWD talons/Eclipses. I think the only killer of this motor would be bad tuning, detonation, or a retarded owner who is trying to run too high boost without fuel (tuning, again!)

These are the first few things I noticed about the car and wanted to have some others chime in.

1. The factory intercooler is crap, basically worthless and probably causes MORE power loss than it presents for gains. It looks to be heat soaked almost instantly after start up and was designed poorly. Once I get time I will test how restrictive it is as I am willing to bet there is a large pressure drop between end tanks and the efficiency is probably non existent. It may almsot be better to just run the boost right to the intake manifold and bypss the intercooler. Thats how bad it looks to me!

2. The car is a fat pig and runs rich as can be. Most likely to combat detonation from the ridiculously hot air that the boiling turbo is pushing into the engine and the lack of a efficient intercooler.

3. The PCM is touchy and like to retard timing and opens the wastegate far too early. Car is slow to recover between shifts and the recirc BOV is REQUIRED for the PCM to work correctly. I wish they used a MAP sensor instead.

4. Intake system plumbing is junk and restrictive. Downpipe looks to be restrictive as well. I am willing to bet with a good downpipe and CAI this thing could make about 30+ more HP stock without any other mods.

5. I like the factory exhaust sound. So i will not be modding this, even if it yields a 7 HP gain. I can make that up through boost and other mods.