dropping a cx-7

cx-7_racer

:
2007 mazda cx-7
Hey I am new to AWD cars and was wondering if you can drop a cx-7 and how hard it would be.

thanks for any info

Something in the How to subforum would be nice.

why drop it? it's low enough and u may F up your warrenty. CX handles fine. instead of lowereing, add 20" rims and tires and i think u will be pleased instead of lowering. it will also ride more harsh if u lower, but handle better. ...depends on what u r looking for.

20" rims will only amplify the wheel gap. The only way to get rid of it is to drop. A bigger wheel would work if there was even wheel gap around the wheel. Since this does not hold in the case with the CX-7, dropping is the only alernative.

I imagine it will be a drastic drop if you want it to look tight, so might be kind of expensive to implement.

njcx7 said:
why drop it? it's low enough and u may F up your warrenty. CX handles fine. instead of lowereing, add 20" rims and tires and i think u will be pleased instead of lowering. it will also ride more harsh if u lower, but handle better. ...depends on what u r looking for.

The same might be said about the ride with 20s on 0_o

it's really more like a wagon than an SUV. it's not as if lowering it is going to ruin all the awesome off-road ability the CX-7 has.

09factor said:
Who actually make a lowering kit for the -7?

I just spoke to Eibach and they are going to have a ProKit available in a couple of months for the CX-7. They made the springs that are on the DG Motorsports and the Troy Lee Designs CX-7's from SEMA. He said that the drop will be somewhere between 1.5" and 2".

I've also been talking with Tein to see if they will offer one as well! The initial reaction was "no plans", but I am trying to play the "oh well, I guess I'll have to buy the eibach kit" card. (sssh)

I'll keep you posted...