Hid

geezerz99

:
2006 MAZDA5 Sport
Anyone know a good place to buy a pair of h7 hid's? what's a good brand? are the one's on ebay any good?

Everything is plug-in play. If you know a little about wiring then you can do this. And that kit for $200 shipped is a steal.

Halogen projectors were never meant nor designed to house HID bulbs, so do so at your own risk. Performance may not be what you would expect.

dommo_g said:
Halogen projectors were never meant nor designed to house HID bulbs, so do so at your own risk. Performance may not be what you would expect.
Then how do you explain the Mazda3 GT, Mazda5 GT, C6 Vette, Ferraris, etc etc... they've got projector + HID. I'm not sure what the difference would be if the projected started out from the factory as a halogen or as a HID. You saying there's some type of design or aiming difference between the two? I never heard that before.

Last edited:
I'm no HID expert, but I think dommo_g is correct...to a point.
I know the Mazda3 w/factory HID has a manual adjustment so that you can adjust the glare and not blind oncoming traffic, and other cars with factory HIDs have and automatic leveler for the headlamps.
But other than that I think projector headlamps should be well suited aftermarket HIDs. With their sharp beam cut off you won't have your HID light flooding all over the place, it will be controlled and placed where it needs to be.
As far as the halogen headlamp assemblies physically being able to handle the HIDs...they're fine...you won't melt the plastic as the HID burners put out less heat than the halogen bulbs.

Installation was a breeze...the hardest part IMO was finding places to mount the ballasts.

And to toot my own horn, here's the write-up I did:
HID install

the_saint said:
I know the Mazda3 w/factory HID has a manual adjustment so that you can adjust the glare and not blind oncoming traffic, and other cars with factory HIDs have and automatic leveler for the headlamps.