An idea for exhaust....

mazdamp3_18

:
06 gti, 06 evo IX
I was sitting in bed last night and i know a cuple people have mentioned this before. but would we even get a power increase if we kept our racing beat muffler and make the exhaust from the cat to the muffler 2.25 inches. since the racing beat mufflers inlet is 2 inches wouldnt that negate and pipe increase since it isnt increasing flow, its just increasing more area in a cretain part?
but im no expert on exhaust.
can anyone help me out on this.

there was an interesting article in a recent sport compact car magazine about aftermarket exhaust. while large bore exhausts are nice, and they do improve on the flow, what you want is velocity to extract teh gasses out of the engine. with a large bore system, you get good flow, but low velocity and not good performance. with a well thought out system, you can get more power and not be much louder than stock. with a good muffler, you can have good flow and good sound deadening effects. of course, if you want loud, go for it! i was thinking of having a system made, out of 2" mandrel bent tubing with a Borla muffler. i just have to find the right style tip.

If you want an "Engineered Cat-Back System" You should go with Bosal. They have dyno'ed the set up for the Protege package. Atleast they say they have and that they will post slips soon. I believe them and the people who have the systems seemed to be very pleased with them.
Just my 2cents

would just having the resonator removed help in hp? or would it be useless. im not going to spend 300 some odd dollars on a new exhaust system when we already have a bad ass one on ours . i just want to better my already great car. i want to keep my racing beat muffler now. but i want it to sound more scary. our exhayst seems a little toned down compared to some factory sport exhaust. i would like better sounds and better performance.