Wanna see the difference between an ACT clutch and OEM Mazdaspeed6 clutch?

flatlander937

:
'11 Mazda2 Sport
Well you're in the right thread!

For some background... I'm a tech at a large used car dealership. There is a vehicle that was sold, clutch slips in 6th gear and had excessive clutch pedal effort. I found the Mazda TSB so of course ordered the parts planning on replacing the pedal, clutch and pressure plate, and resurfacing the flywheel.

Come to find out the clutch that the vehicle had in it(from a previous owner) is aftermarket, an ACT clutch.

It is quite interesting that this is supposed to be an upgrade for these vehicles, when in fact comparing them side by side proves this may not be the case... at least when it comes to friction surface area. edit: after further reading, surface area has nearly nothing to do with torque holding ability. Just heat dissipation and longevity.

First the pics... Mazda on left(these are the revised parts found in the clutch effort TSB), ACT on right:

IMG_20120302_161622.jpg

The Mazda clutch disc is 9.75" in diameter, the ACT is 9.50" in diameter:

IMG_20120302_161632.jpg

IMG_20120302_161729.jpg

IMG_20120302_161717.jpg

The pressure plate assemblies. I am not sure how spring stuff is calculated, but it -appears- the ACT clutch will be much heavier... which could give you the false illusion that it is going to hold more power... whether true or not.

IMG_20120302_161808.jpg

And here you can see the dual mass flywheel that the MS6 comes with.

IMG_20120302_161645.jpg

I did the math on the surface areas of each clutch disc...

The outter diameters of the discs are 9.75(Mazda) and 9.50(ACT)... not a big difference. To be usable for calculation of circle area, we need the radius of those.

Mazda outter radius: 4.875"
ACT outter radius: 4.75"

The area of a circle is pi x r2 with pi = 3.141592653589793

Because I am lazy, I actually used this calculator to speed things along: