2017~2024 CX-5 Sport Mode Driving issues?

Pitter

Pitter
Contributor
:
2020 CX-5 Signature Azul Metalico
What would the downside be (if any) of driving in Sport Mode on a fairly regular basis apart from what I imagine is increased fuel consumption?

I gave it a go today on the way to work. I've been running standards for the last 6 years on my last car, so this was similar in some ways and very different in others. I enjoyed it!

Upvote 0
I've been being hard on my car by doing short trips. Then yesterday I didn't let it warm up, backed out of my garage and parked it in the driveway to get the lawn mower out, and later pulled back in the garage. So today when I started my car the engine didn't sound great, it was making a taping sound. So I took it for a drive, and after it warmed up I put it into sport mode and floored it on a long length of highway. The tach almost reached 6,000 and I was zoom zooming along. Did the hard acceleration two more times. The engine is now running quiet again.

Upvote 0
Sport mode is a gimmick. Its kinda fun yes but if we're being honest, its a gimmick and all it does it eat more gas.
I don't think it's a gimmick if you know when it is useful.

It is useful to get the car to do more engine braking, if desired.

But to me it is most useful coming up on turns. Switch it into Sport mode as you approach the turn and you'll hear it downshift. This will make coming out of the turn a much more pleasant experience, rather than bogging down at low RPMs with a transmission that is being too conservative. As you accelerate out, switch it back to Normal. It's a part of telling the car what you're about to do and how you want it to behave.

Upvote 0
Sport mode is a gimmick. Its kinda fun yes but if we're being honest, its a gimmick and all it does it eat more gas.