p5 hks hi-power axle-back on msp?

supman

:
2003 mazdaspeed
ne one done it yet? it sticks out right? might have to cut it to make flush. Any problems i should know about?

Last edited:
no, it'll be shorter. you'll have to lengthen it. but don't get it. the piping is too small. it's only 55mm piping, which is 2.16". basically the same size as the stock stuff.

supman said:
damn cuz i just got it! argh! is there anyway to make it fit? or work properly?

yes a muffler shop could make it fit, and technically you would be alright if you just used the muffler and had 2.5 in piping welded from the catback, but then that would be like buying a 300 some dollar muffler. thats pretty silly, so try to sell it. next time remember to check to see what applications the exhaust fits, and if all else fails start a thread asking if it fits or pmming someone with the exhaust.

supman said:
just wondering why is it bad for turbo application? i'm a newbie

generally speaking, 2.25in-2.5in piping is good for N/A applications, and 2.5-3in is good for turbos. granted there are a lot of other factors (like the size of the turbo or engine), but basically a turbo needs unrestricted air flow to get the maximum potential, where the NA applications benefit from a slight "backpressure". hope this helps.

piping's too small. for turbo apps, you want to reduce backpressure so that the turbo can spool more freely. getting an axleback won't do much powerwise since you'll still have all that stock piping ahead of it....and since the piping on the axleback is no bigger than the stock piping, you probably won't see any gains at all. just sound. you'll want to run at least 2.5" piping. i went 3". it's overkill but it won't hurt :)

Striker187 said: