CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Car Electronics: OBDII information

  1. #1
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014

    Car Electronics: OBDII information

    does anyone know where i can locate Mazda/Mazdaspeed specific Vehicle PIDs

  2. #2
    Pickle Pickle 1sty's Avatar
    Donated: $25

    2006 Toyota Tundra DC

    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    14,214
    PID?
    MECP certified Installer, Infocomm CTS-D certified System Designer

    2009 Nissan Xterra
    2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe 2.0T




  3. #3
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014
    SAE standards specify that each group of bytes sent to the vehicle must adhere to a set formant. The first byte (known at the 'mode') always describes the type of data being requestied, while the second, third, etc. bytes specify the actual information required (given by a 'paramameter identification' or PID number). The modes and PIDs are described in detail in the SAE document J1979 (ISO 15031-5), and may also be expanded on by the vehicle manufacturers.
    Source: ELM Electronics ELM323 Datasheet

  4. #4
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014
    bump for the morning crew

  5. #5
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014
    Bump.

    I KNOW its possible to get the Fuel Level over WDS, just asked the Mazda tech. It reports back the % remaining in the tank. I really would like to read this over my ELM232 based OBD II board so i can put it on my carputer.

    There HAS to be a PID for this, and other sensors. There has to be a way to get this info. I tried doing a freeze frame, hoping it would return all sensors, but it returned with NO DATA, which is quite gay...could be my ELM chip though, v1.1 or something, they have 2.0 now which is much better...

    Unless the WDS is some super mega gay system with Uber proprietary encrypted datatransfers...(Standards do require any uploads to the ECU via OBDII to be encrypted. I think the WDS machine is just a big OBDII plus Mazda encryption to upload maps and whatever..) BUT why would stuff like MAF and Intake Temp be able to be read, but not fuel level. there has to be a PID.

    Bottom line, how do we go about finding it?

  6. #6
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014
    Also, is this site
    http://www.mazdatechinfo.com/
    worth it? i will buy the 24 hour thing if they will have the PID codes but it can't imagine them having them. There has to be a way to scan the bus for available PIDs...grrrr...This is the irritating part of owning a Mazda that ISN'T an RX-7 or Miata :mad:

    back to google.

  7. #7
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014
    Eh, fuck it. I wont be able to get it. I can only get manufacturer specific trouble codes, but i guess the fuel level shit is propreietary. how fucking gay.

  8. #8
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014
    this is getting interesting.(even if im only talking to myself)..kinda...apparently these ECUs use the J2534 standard...which means they can be programmed WITHOUT the WDS....

  9. #9
    King of the City! NRRfrogmanP5's Avatar
    Donated: $10
    CX, IL, OT, Marketplace & Protege5 Moderator

    '14 CX-5, Touring AWD Soul Red

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Palos Hills, llinois, United States
    Posts
    8,514
    lol im listening and talkin back even if i have no clue whats goin on...as usual


    MAZDATEAM OFFICIAL STALKER OF ZUKU26
    Mazdateam/IL Section Pro Football Pickem 2009 co champ


  10. #10
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014
    The proper connector is defined as SAE J1962 (with FEPS).

    FEPS: Flash EEPROM Programming Signal. 18 volt DC signal sent by the scan tool to initiate PCM reprogramming.

  11. #11
    Licensed Part Breaker pb4ugoout's Avatar

    03 Mica Black MSP #584

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    693
    yea i'm pretty lost as well. but i think you are trying to figure out how to get your carputer to display the data from the sensor already on your car that are being fed to the ECU. such as the fuel tank level. please let me know if that is correct. and either way, what exactly are you doing???
    #584 is gone...been replaced with an 06 Nautical Blue Scion tC
    Pics Updated 1.29.06

  12. #12
    Registered Member Mr. Win's Avatar
    Donated: $.05


    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hurricane Alley
    Posts
    5,844
    well im not sure but im almost positive that shop scanners can check all of these things. Id say check into snap-on and see if you can borrow.
    Quote Originally Posted by pHeeL tHiZ ViBe
    haha you obviously don't know what your talking about...

    stop wishing me luck...its drifting, not a damn math test..shit

  13. #13
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014
    Quote Originally Posted by pb4ugoout
    yea i'm pretty lost as well. but i think you are trying to figure out how to get your carputer to display the data from the sensor already on your car that are being fed to the ECU. such as the fuel tank level. please let me know if that is correct. and either way, what exactly are you doing???
    yeah im trying to get the fuel level (from stock fuel level sender) over OBDII but i dont think its gonna happen...i want to be able to put automatic MPG calculations on my screen.

  14. #14
    Banned Dexter's Avatar
    Donated: $5.73
    Unauthorized DOUCHEBAG


    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,014
    Quote Originally Posted by SenorCorwin
    well im not sure but im almost positive that shop scanners can check all of these things. Id say check into snap-on and see if you can borrow.
    well the damn mazda WDS can check it too but does not provide the actual PID but i think because maybe its not on the OBD bus but on the J2534 or whatever crap. Only a certain number of sensors are mandated by the SAE, the other ones, like fuel level, can be implemented however they want. Im talking to a guy who got the fuel level sensor on his Focus, so im hoping maybe it will be the same since we are the goddamn bastard children of Ford

  15. #15
    Registered Member Mr. Win's Avatar
    Donated: $.05


    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hurricane Alley
    Posts
    5,844
    the only thing i can think on obd is fuel trim... that tells if its lean or not.

    so you maybe correct i havent looked at a obd in a while.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-06-2007, 06:40 PM
  2. Unnofficial GT4 Car list....
    By MrFoggy in forum Off Topic, Hobbies & Humor
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 06-10-2004, 09:59 PM
  3. ok guys i dont know
    By rsj in forum MSP Archives
    Replies: 112
    Last Post: 09-03-2003, 09:11 PM
  4. I want a Mazdaspeed . . .
    By NaD00D00 in forum MSP Archives
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-30-2003, 10:25 AM
  5. Poor Man's 10,000 Mile Mark Review --> LONG <--
    By t3ase in forum MSP Archives
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-30-2003, 01:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •