Power steering fluid - when to change? (2013 Mazda5 GT)

tanstaafl

:
2013 Mazda5 GT
I got an oil change today at 42k and the tech suggested changing the power steering fluid. He showed me a drop of the fluid, which looked a little off color but not terrible. I did not agree to the fluid change because it seems too soon and because he wanted $120 for the job, which seems a bit much. My service manual doesn't say anything about the interval to replace the power steering fluid; "Schedule 2" just says to inspect it every 5k miles. Any thoughts on a service interval for the power steering fluid? (I am a pretty normal driver; 1/2 highway and 1/2 city down here in very flat/hot Houston.) Thanks.

I'm at 50k and about to change it, just need time.
I'd day it is cheap insurance to change. You can do yourself, I should have how-to next few month.
It is not super hard to DIY.

Same guy that was telling you to change your ATF fluid after you just had it changed. Again, don't listen to quick change guys, they're just pushing for a sale on a service. Generally Power Steering fluid is something that isn't really ever recommended for a change. I don't believe PS fluid actually lubricates anything does it? Think it's purely a hydraulic fluid so it's not seeing much wear and tear other than pressure.

Geeze these guys were really trying to get to go for the whole meal deal weren't they!

True that some places out to get you. I changed a fuel filter on a friends car, a week later he went to do oil change at Mr. Lube and they suggested him to change the fuel filter as the current one looked very old :)
Even though it was nice, new and shiny...

But old power steering fluid ... as everything it goes bad. It does lubricate the pump and internal rack parts. It eventually build up contaminations and should be changed.
I don't see 3-4 years as super upsell...
Id rather change it and know it is done then experiment with life of power steering equipment.