Your Best Source for Genuine Mazda Parts!
Your Best Source for Genuine Mazda Parts!

Thread: Pros and Cons of 2005 Mazda RX-8

Registered Member

Pros and Cons of 2005 Mazda RX-8

I'm a new driver and I was thinking about picking up a 2005 pre-owned RX-8. I am getting my license in a few weeks so I am not able to test drive it yet but I'm doing a lot of research. I was just wondering if anyone had a coles notes list of pros and cons with the RX-8. From what I've seen, my list consists of...

Pros

- Great looks. 2nd nicest looking car, next to the Genesis Coupe.
    - Affordable. I can pick up a 2005 Automatic w/ leather for under 20k $CAN.
    - 4 door coupe.

Cons

- Very bad on gas.

That's all I know so far. If anyone has ANY insight it'd be much appreciated. Does the engine make a ton of noise on the highway or at other times? Is it small/cramped during long trips? Is the low torque an issue? Anything else I should be worried about? What else is good about the 2005 RX-8 besides what I mentioned?

Thank you

Guyblow
    Marketplace, Motorsports, NA, Nitrous & Rotary Moderator

2013 CWP MS3 / 1977 Celica GT

Do yourself a huge favor if you get an rx8 and get it in 6spd. This car will out handle a genesis coupe. Engine noise is pretty low as well with a stock setup.

Donated: 15$

2001 Mazda Protegé5

Pro's - Handling and balance
    Con's - Price, sucky power, reliability, gas millage, oil consumption, usability, maintenance,

Guyblow

Quote Originally Posted by pr5owner View Post
    Con's - reliability, oil consumption, maintenance,
    Not exactly sure why these are listed as cons

Well maintained rotarys will last just as long as a piston engine, oil consumption isn't really a con its just a pain for lazy people who should be checking their oil any way reguardless of mileage, and maintenance is the same as any other vehicle no difference there at all.