crank/camshaft position sensor

Judge Mills

:
2003 Mazda Protege 5
What do you guys think the symptoms would be if one of those sensors was going out on your car? Possibly running well for a few moments, only to run like crap afterwards, then, like the flip of a switch, run fine again?

My mechanic buddy thinks that is what may be wrong with my car, though he personally hasn't looked at it. Just wondering what ya'll think.....

(dunno)

I'm by no means a mechanic, but as far as I know, they go, and then after that, the car doesn't. I had a 90 Lumina once, and it had a crank sensor with a crack that oil seeped into. I drove and parked it, and it never started again until I had it replaced. Just my experience.

The bolt in my cam possition sensor came out once and it would shut off in hard left hand turns, then it would come back on after sitting. The wire had enough tension to push it back in the hole, took a while but I figured it out.

Did you have an aftermarket crank pulley? Might check the crank timing wheel bolts if so. Think I saw another thread where that had happened.

Yeah, you'd think, unless it just hasn't gotten that bad yet. If he has oem crank then nevermind on that.

Did you have an aftermarket crank pulley? Might check the crank timing wheel bolts if so. Think I saw another thread where that had happened.

Yep happened to me with an aftermarket pulley. The timing wheel on the pulley sheared of. Car immediately stopped running...

Hmm? Too lean? Injector or fuel pump issue & loose crank wheel bolts? oem or aftermarket crank pulley?

Hmm? Too lean? Injector or fuel pump issue & loose crank wheel bolts? oem or aftermarket crank pulley?

Don't know about the crank.... I'll have to look today when I get off work.

i took it to the shop and they replaced the intake gasket,telling me that was the problem... yet it's still running the same...:mad: