Oxygen Sensor

gapeachsp5

:
03 Mazda 6s
Anyone else have an O2 sensor mess up? My check engine light came on (first issue and 50,000 miles on the car). So, I went to Autozone and they tested it so something's wrong with one of my O2 sensors.

Nothing was really happening with my car until this afternoon on my way home from work. I was driving along and it started acting weird, no way else to say it. I would have my foot steady on the gas and my rpms would jump up a little, maybe 200 rpms. Would the O2 sensor have anything to do with this?

I'm a complete noob when it comes to real car issues....please help! I have an appt at the dealership to get it looked at but that's not until Wednesday.

Oh, by the way, I have an auto 2002.5 p5 if that info is of any importance.

Thanks

go back to autozone, or have them tell you the code it threw. it will be:
P0000 (0= number)

02 Sensors fail and this could just be an issue of that happening and causing the problem. They will replace the sensor and you should be good to go. You could also go to Autozone by one, and do it yourself.

Has happened to me on 2 different cars.

Sure it could mean something else, just stating the most obvious possibility.

So how much is one at Autozone? I've been told they're really simple to replace, and I have mechanically inclined family members and a boyfriend that could do it.

The code is P0031 if I remember correctly. I lost the piece of paper with the code on it. Tell you anything? Like which sensor it is?

Hmmm...It should tell you which "Bank" it is in if I recall correctly, and I think bank 1 is mani, bank 2 is after the cat. It could be the other way around. I would find out specifically the code meant, not just it involved the 02 Sensor, though I am almost certain the sensor has failed.

Not exactly sure on cost. Last one I replaced was over the fall of last year for a saturn and for the life of me I can't remember what I paid.

pdhaudio83 said: