PDA

View Full Version : Mazda 3 audio inputs



thebern
05-18-2004, 03:03 PM
What inputs are on the back on the Mazda 3 radio?
Can I add a 3rd party MP3 player where the factory
MP3 or tape player would go?

1sty
05-18-2004, 03:16 PM
I'm not as up to date as I should be about the Mazda3 but to my knowledge the only thing that can be interfaced as of yet is the factory MP3 and tape players. I don't bel;ieve anything aftermarket exists yet.

You'd have the best luck searching in the car audio section.

bluntman
05-18-2004, 04:03 PM
There aren't any AUX inputs on the back of the radio. There are a couple of "hacks" floating around the internet that will allow you to attach your mp3 player though.

bucky43
05-18-2004, 06:41 PM
There aren't any AUX inputs on the back of the radio. There are a couple of "hacks" floating around the internet that will allow you to attach your mp3 player though.


could you please tell me where the "hacks" are or what they are.

thanks

bluntman
05-18-2004, 07:36 PM
could you please tell me where the "hacks" are or what they are.

thanks

Well, here's (http://www.rx8club.com/showthread.php?postid=239804#post239160) one, and here's (http://www.rx8club.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=10530) another one. Eventhough the walkthroughs are for an RX-8, the HUs are virtually identical.

Here's (http://www.************.com/viewtopic.php?t=4669&highlight=fm+modulator) a bonus one for you. This uses and FM modulator in a Mazda3. The only thing I don't like about this is that you have to wire in a switch to turn the modulator on or off.

thebern
05-19-2004, 09:57 AM
Well, here's (http://www.rx8club.com/showthread.php?postid=239804#post239160) one, and here's (http://www.rx8club.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=10530) another one. Eventhough the walkthroughs are for an RX-8, the HUs are virtually identical.

Here's (http://www.************.com/viewtopic.php?t=4669&highlight=fm+modulator) a bonus one for you. This uses and FM modulator in a Mazda3. The only thing I don't like about this is that you have to wire in a switch to turn the modulator on or off.


Thanks! I am gonna look into trying hack number 2. Though my solder
skills probably are not that good.

krstofer
07-13-2004, 11:59 AM
I used the kenwood fm Modulator for my music keg. I also noticed Best buy sells some kind of fm modulator for generic use and a specific one for the Ipod.

Don't know how well they work though.

Krs

bvmazda3
07-13-2004, 08:44 PM
I used the kenwood fm Modulator for my music keg. I also noticed Best buy sells some kind of fm modulator for generic use and a specific one for the Ipod.

Don't know how well they work though.

Krs

A couple of people tried both methods and found that with the 'hacks' they enjoyed a much better quality of sound. But it is slightly more involved than the FM modulators... I guess it depends on how comfortable you are with that kind of thing. It looked pretty basic, and a good starter project for anyone wanting to tinker with their 3's electronics.

~Bart~

PeteyBoy3K
07-19-2004, 08:38 PM
I used the kenwood fm Modulator for my music keg. I also noticed Best buy sells some kind of fm modulator for generic use and a specific one for the Ipod.

Don't know how well they work though.

Krs

as far as I can tell, inlinemod w/o cassette player > cassette adaptor > inlinemod w/cassette player (splits signals) > Stereo FM modulator > Monaural FM modulator

the Griffin iTrip, while inscrutably super cute (like most everything apple makes *hugs 12" powerbook*) has fuzzy audio quality and is only monaural. I think the easiest thing happens to be the cassette adaptor, especially if you have a cassette player.

krstofer
07-19-2004, 08:56 PM
Well I hooked up the fm modulator and I have static. I didn't ground it yet so I am hoping that it fixes the problem. The static disipates the louder the volume, but it never disappears. I am considering hooking up my kenwood HU in the glove box and mounting an IR repeater in the dash. Depends how desperate I get to have good quality audio. :(

zoom-zoom2
08-12-2004, 01:06 PM
I have a new 05 Mazda 3 on the way in Sept, and had hoped it would have a line-in or a AUX connection in the stereo so that I could plug in my MP3 player. I had hoped, because so many 3 buyers are on the younger side and younger people are generally more tech savvy, that Mazda would see the value in adding a MP3 player line-in right away (and because Nissan offers this in the Sentra). This didn't happen and it doesn't sound like the 05's have this feature either. So I have been looking for a way around this problem.

FM modulators were invented for this exact reason. However they require a power source and don't have the best sound quality (ground loop issues, etc.). Anyways after some more digging I was able to find a solution: http://www.************.com/viewtopic.php?t=8831

This PIE solution uses to components:

1- MAZ/PC-ALP ( http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=445 ): This device is a protocol convertor (originally designed to allow you to hook a Alpine CD changer up to the stock Mazda radio) and connects to the back of the radio and "translates" the electronic signals from the "language" of the mazda radio to the "language" of Alpine. It gives you an m-bus connection with the Alpine "language".

2- ALP/M-RCA ( http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=124 ): This attaches to the m-bus connection above and gives you standard RCA input jacks.

All you have to do is get these 2 components and hook them up to the stock radio and then hook in your iPod (or any other music player, laptop, DVD player) and hit the CD button twice and then you have sound. Lots of people have had luck with this solution. Only problem seems to be if your car has a NAV screen (not going to be much of a problem for Canadians).

According to what I have found this will work for the 3, RX8, 03-04 Protégé, 03-04 Tribute, 03-04 Miata, 02-04 MPV, 03-04 B-Series. I'm assuming that it will work for all these models in the 05's unless Mazda makes big changes to the radio.

krstofer
08-12-2004, 02:42 PM
I hope this works. Let us know how it goes. I would love to get rid of the FM modulator. I am also looking to add an auxillary head phone jack in the car for audio input from my archos media player.


Krs

bvmazda3
08-18-2004, 01:15 AM
I have a new 05 Mazda 3 on the way in Sept, and had hoped it would have a line-in or a AUX connection in the stereo so that I could plug in my MP3 player. I had hoped, because so many 3 buyers are on the younger side and younger people are generally more tech savvy, that Mazda would see the value in adding a MP3 player line-in right away (and because Nissan offers this in the Sentra). This didn't happen and it doesn't sound like the 05's have this feature either. So I have been looking for a way around this problem.



They are probably not going to offer this feature, as they sell their own MP3 player as an option. They would be cutting their sales of the MP3 module if they offered a line-in option.

sndsgood
08-19-2004, 07:15 PM
They are probably not going to offer this feature, as they sell their own MP3 player as an option. They would be cutting their sales of the MP3 module if they offered a line-in option.

ding ding ding we have a winner lol



besides, all you young savy tech guys should go aftermarket stereo anyway ;)

MASTERNC
11-13-2004, 10:19 PM
About the PIE method:

I was going to install a PIE adapter in my family van (a Honda) and a lot of those users have complained about interference caused by the alternator, especially when an MP3 player is powered by the car's power outlet (which I often do--darn MP3 batteries never last as long as promised). They suggest either using a ground wire (which the PIE for that model has) or a device from Radio Shack.

The van will be a "guinea pig" install before I do it on my M3i. However, I am concerned that the same issues will arise with the Mazda. This time, however, there is no ground wire with that Alpine PIE adapter and the Radio Shack part would be harder to install as well due to different ports on the adapter.

Anyone have similar issues with the Mazdas as far as noise interference and how did you fix it?

bluntman
11-14-2004, 09:27 AM
No problems here.

ag bullet
11-28-2004, 04:24 PM
According to what I have found this will work for the 3, RX8, 03-04 Protégé, 03-04 Tribute, 03-04 Miata, 02-04 MPV, 03-04 B-Series. I'm assuming that it will work for all these models in the 05's unless Mazda makes big changes to the radio.
So this will work even if you already have the in-dash 6-disc?

bluntman
11-28-2004, 05:12 PM
Yes it will.

ag bullet
11-29-2004, 09:20 PM
Cool. So one last question. With the Alpine adapter, which input am I switching to to hear my mp3 player? Preference would be the MD/Tape button.

bluntman
11-29-2004, 09:46 PM
Press the CD button twice (once the PIE module is installed) will display an EX 1 on the LCD screen.

ag bullet
11-30-2004, 08:16 PM
Nice and thanks for your help. I am pretty certain that I will be getting a Dell DJ for Christmas and this seems to be the easiest way to hook it up in the 3.

ag bullet
12-24-2004, 09:28 PM
Nice and thanks for your help. I am pretty certain that I will be getting a Dell DJ for Christmas and this seems to be the easiest way to hook it up in the 3.

Any problems with this set up as far as interference goes bluntman?

bluntman
12-24-2004, 11:46 PM
None.

ag bullet
12-27-2004, 08:20 PM
None.

Good to hear. I have ordered up a dashmount kit and the PIE adapters. Hopefully it will all be here on Wenesday and I can install it.

Badger Biker
12-28-2004, 02:36 AM
Which dashmount did you go with?

I am thinking about proclip .. but would prefer something a little higher methinks.

ag bullet
12-28-2004, 08:01 PM
I opted for the proclip, mainly for ease of install and price. <shrug>

Badger Biker
12-28-2004, 09:14 PM
I ordered mine last night.

They are based in Madison, WI ... my current place of living! :D

Hopefully it is here soon. I have awesome hard-wireing ideas with a monster iCarCharger. :D

MASTERNC
12-31-2004, 07:51 PM
Just installed the PIE adapter today. The install was so much easier than the one I did on the family van. Attached the adapter to the bottom of the HU with cable ties and placed a small piece of low-grade insulation to cushion the device. Haven't tried powering the unit through the car power plug yet though.

Badger Biker
12-31-2004, 08:02 PM
I got everything installed with no problem. See my thread on it here: http://www.msprotege.com/forum/showthread.php?t=93147

bucky43
02-01-2005, 10:23 AM
This PIE solution uses to components:

1- MAZ/PC-ALP ( http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=445 ): This device is a protocol convertor (originally designed to allow you to hook a Alpine CD changer up to the stock Mazda radio) and connects to the back of the radio and "translates" the electronic signals from the "language" of the mazda radio to the "language" of Alpine. It gives you an m-bus connection with the Alpine "language".

2- ALP/M-RCA ( http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=124 ): This attaches to the m-bus connection above and gives you standard RCA input jacks.

All you have to do is get these 2 components and hook them up to the stock radio and then hook in your iPod (or any other music player, laptop, DVD player) and hit the CD button twice and then you have sound. Lots of people have had luck with this solution. Only problem seems to be if your car has a NAV screen (not going to be much of a problem for Canadians).

does anyone know what the problems are if you have nav? also are you precluded from doing this if you have the 6disc changer and or the nav?

thanks

dcn
02-22-2005, 05:41 PM
I may be asking a question that has already been answered but I wanna be sure. We have a Canadian 3 GS with single disc cd player as the audio option. So there is no grounding, wiring etc of any kind? All you do is connect the gold coloured jack here http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=124 into the PIE Adapter, and the blue and white power looking plugs here http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=445 into the back of the factory head unit, yes? I know I'm encouraging a sarcastic answer by asking what seems to be an obvious question, but I wanna be sure before I whip out the credit card.. Wow, those PIEs seem to be awful hard to get now anyway, even if I was ready to order now/


Also, since I'm planning on using the headphone-out jack on my MP3 player, could I order this http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=608 and use it instead of the wire that has RCA/Composite jacks on it?

bluntman
02-22-2005, 07:48 PM
I believe the blue connector plugs into the back of the stock stereo, the white connector plugs into the PIE box. The round gold connector on the cable then plugs into the other side of the PIE box. Get the other cable instead. That's what I bought (the PIE box and the other cable).

dcn
02-23-2005, 12:18 AM
I believe the blue connector plugs into the back of the stock stereo, the white connector plugs into the PIE box. The round gold connector on the cable then plugs into the other side of the PIE box. Get the other cable instead. That's what I bought (the PIE box and the other cable).

By the other cable, do you mean the one with the headphone jack sized jack on it, IE NOT the Red/White, correct?

Also, the blue goes into the stereo, got that part. But the white cable plugs into the PIE box? Isn't the white cable already coming OUT of the PIE box?
DCN

bluntman
02-23-2005, 10:09 AM
Right, when I said the other cable, I meant the KCM-123B, the one with the headphone jack. It's one less cable that you have to buy.

Trust me, I have the PIE box installed, the cable with the blue and white connectors connects the PIE to the back of the stock headunit (blue into the stereo, white into the PIE box).

http://members.rogers.com/alegardo/ipodmod.jpg

dcn
02-23-2005, 01:38 PM
Right, when I said the other cable, I meant the KCM-123B, the one with the headphone jack. It's one less cable that you have to buy.

Trust me, I have the PIE box installed, the cable with the blue and white connectors connects the PIE to the back of the stock headunit (blue into the stereo, white into the PIE box).



Oh I trust/believe you, don't worry. I just didna understand if/why the blue cable that looked like it was coming out of the PIE box in the ad would then plug back into the PIE box. So it's a separate cable altogether, I didn't get that before. To me it looked as if it came out and then back into the box. Thanks for your help bluntman!

bucky43
02-24-2005, 05:46 PM
I have the 6 disc and please correct me if i'm wrong, the MAZ/PC-ALP and ALP/M-RCA connection will work, right? BUT I also have navigation, so my question is, am i still able to make an input for my mp3 player? sorry if this has been answered but i'm not that technically knowledgeable.

TheGragster
03-04-2005, 02:03 AM
Does anyone know if the MAZ/PC-ALP works with a 2003 protege LX? Had almost given up and was about to buy an FM modulator, but I would rather not. I'm attempting to get an iPod mini to work with my Mazda and this is the first place I've found sucsess stories.

Also, if it does work, could this setup work with something like this? http://www.monstercable.com/iCruze/

--grant

iden_168
03-14-2005, 11:46 PM
Hi I just got my car last thursday and I was wondering where could I purchase PIE. I am located in the philippines hope sombody could help thanks.

Don Lockwood
05-03-2005, 06:28 PM
Has any canadian ordered the PIE adapter? Have you ordered from the USA or is it available in Canada? How much did you pay with shipping & taxes ? How about duties $$$ if it came from the USA.

Thanks!

dcn
05-03-2005, 07:15 PM
I'd like to know too. They were hard to get anywhere a few months ago when I loked into it.

bluntman
05-04-2005, 07:09 PM
I bought my PIE module from Discountcarstereo.com along with the appropriate Alpine cable (KCM-123B). I think the bill came to about $200CDN, but that's for the PIE module and the cable and taxes. Consider the alternative, Alpine Canada knows nothing about that cable and no car audio stores stock them and the PIE module is impossible to find locally.

mobomelter
05-04-2005, 11:44 PM
you might be able to snag one here (http://www.logjamelectronics.com/piemazpcalp.html), but it will cost more. i am trying to get one from logjam since discount car stereo has no idea when they will have them in stock again.

Mace Windu
05-06-2005, 03:00 PM
If you are wanting to connect an ipod, check it out.

www.ipod2car.com

Not bad. I don't have one. Or an iPod for that matter :(

Mace Windu
05-06-2005, 03:17 PM
Sorry, this is supported only for B-series trucks. My fault.

alexanderp513
07-06-2005, 05:35 PM
i was wondering... do you thiunk i could take out my head ubit and put in a cassette adapter into the cassette player cord first, then feed the wire out through the ash tray???

ckotsis
08-10-2005, 09:12 AM
Hi,

Does anyone have info on how to dismantle the front panel inorder to put the PIE in?

ZippityZoomZoom
05-13-2006, 05:07 AM
Are there problems doing this with NAV?

icspots
05-29-2006, 09:12 AM
Are there problems doing this with NAV?

Shouldn't be. You should be able to use any of the aux input methods listed here (http://www.msprotege.com/forum/showthread.php?t=123634459) with any configuration (Bose, NAV, DIS) HU.

Ckotsis, Check out this (http://www.************.com/index.php?topic=33756.0) walkthrough on the auxmod install. It shows how to remove the HU to install stuff. Same process, just plugging into a different plug.

ZippityZoomZoom
05-30-2006, 05:03 AM
I ended up getting the Audio Link iPod Integration Kit for Mazda sold by RPM for under $110 and it works just fine - no static, no alternator whine.

rkd2398
12-10-2006, 12:06 AM
can you add the aftermarkett reciever to the satellite button in a Mazda 3?